win brockmeyer scholarship foundation

The Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee listed below*, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 25th annual Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarships.

By: Sue Nelson
Program Officer

10 DECEMBER, 2020


The Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee listed below*, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 25th annual Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarships, a program administered by the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin.

The 2020 student-athletes nominated by their school’s respective coaching staffs include:

  • Dylan Ackermann of Newman Catholic High School
  • Orion Boe of D.C. Everest High School
  • Ean Marciniak of Wausau West High School
  • Jack Ohrmundt of Wausau East High School

From these nominees, a Selection Committee composed of members of the press, area school athletic directors, and a representative of the Community Foundation, will choose one of these athletes as the Win Brockmeyer Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Greater Wausau Area for 2020.  That announcement will be made at a recognition ceremony virtually on Friday, December 18, 2020, at 8 a.m.

Each nominee will be honored with at least a $500 scholarship, and the student selected as the Outstanding Player of the Year will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

To be nominated, each student-athlete must meet the following selection criteria, as established by the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee* in 1996:

  • Graduating senior from D.C. Everest, Newman Catholic, Wausau East, or Wausau West High Schools (or any other greater Wausau area high school that develops a football program in the future)
  • Who is an outstanding football player;
  • Achieving recognition by his peers and coaches;
  • Who is a positive role model;
  • And displays the characteristics of:
  • Aggressiveness
  • Courage
  • Physical development
  • Sportsmanship

The Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarship Fund was formed within the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin by members of the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee with donations received from over 125 donors in Brockmeyer’s memory.

Brockmeyer was a legendary high school football coach who excelled in leadership and the development of human potential. His winning football record from 1937 – 1971 covered 34 years at Wausau High School, which served students in the area currently served by D.C. Everest, Wausau East and West, and Newman Catholic High Schools.  The area-wide scholarship recognition program concept provides area-wide participation and recognition, and unites the region in recognition of their outstanding football players.  It also provides an opportunity to tell the Brockmeyer story and focus on his football legacy, uniting the communities in the region through the cooperative selection process.

In the Win Brockmeyer Scholarship Fund’s history, 79 young men have received scholarship awards totaling nearly $68,000.

Previous Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Year award recipients include:

2019           Marc Sippel, Wausau West High School

2018           Elliot Samuels, Newman Catholic High School

2017           Zach Mueller, DC Everest Senior High School

2016           Thomas Dunbar, Wausau East High School

2015           Stephen Paoli, DC Everest Senior High School

2014           Jake Whalen, Wausau West High School

2013           Cole Radloff, Wausau West High School

2012           Logan Taylor, Wausau East High School

2011           Brandon Luedtke, Wausau East High School

2010           Matiah Fischer, Wausau West High School

2009           Tyler Day, Wausau West High School

2008           Anthony Fischer, Newman Catholic High School

2007           Tyler Utecht, Wausau West High School

2006           Joe Gallion, Wausau East High School

2005           Ben Fischer, Wausau East High School

2004           Jordan Hein, Wausau West High School

2003           Andy Crooks, Wausau East High School

2002           Bradley Block, Wausau East High School

2001            Mark Zalewski, Wausau East High School

2000           Jonathon Wanta, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1999            Bounthavy Khamratthanome, Wausau West High School

1998           Derek Abney, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1997           Heath Novitzke, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1996           Timothy Freiberg, Wausau West High School

*Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee:

David Graebel and Barbara Hunger (Aaron Baumgardt, Walter Bissell, Cal Chamberlain, Robert Hartwig, Ernie Hoenisch, John Hollingsworth, and Harlan Hunger in memoriam)

More News