2021 Win Brockmeyer Memorial Award Recipients Announced

NEWS | December 1, 2021

This year’s Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarships recipients have been named by the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin and will be honored at the 26th annual Win Brockmeyer Memorial Awards Ceremony to be held at the Wausau Country Club on Friday, December 17, 2021, at 8 a.m.

The 2021 student-athletes nominated by their school’s respective coaching staffs include:

  • Colton Geurink of Wausau West High School
  • Jacob Pfiffner of Newman Catholic High School
  • Ty Strehlow of D.C. Everest Senior High School
  • Sawyer Trevillian of Wausau East High School

From these nominees, a Selection Committee composed of members of the local press, the high schools’ athletic directors, and a representative of the Community Foundation, will choose one of these athletes as the Win Brockmeyer Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Greater Wausau Area for 2021.  That announcement will be made at the recognition ceremony on December 17.

Each nominee will be honored with at least a $500 scholarship and the student selected as the Outstanding Player of the Year will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

To be nominated, each student-athlete must meet the following selection criteria, as established by the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee* in 1996:

  • Graduating senior from D.C. Everest, Newman Catholic, Wausau East, or Wausau West High Schools (or any other greater Wausau area high school that develops a football program in the future)
  • Who is an outstanding football player;
  • Achieving recognition by his peers and coaches;
  • Who is a positive role model;
  • And displays the characteristics of:
  • Aggressiveness
  • Courage
  • Physical development
  • Sportsmanship

The Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarship Fund was formed within the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin by members of the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee with donations received from over 125 donors in Brockmeyer’s memory.

Brockmeyer was a legendary high school football coach who excelled in leadership and the development of human potential. His winning football record from 1937 – 1971 covered 34 years at Wausau High School, which served students in the area currently served by D.C. Everest, Wausau East and West, and Newman Catholic High Schools.  The area-wide scholarship recognition program concept provides area-wide participation and recognition and unites the region in recognition of their outstanding football players.  It also provides an opportunity to tell the Brockmeyer story and focus on his football legacy, uniting the communities in the region through the cooperative selection process.

In the Win Brockmeyer Scholarship Fund’s history, 80 young men have received scholarship awards.

Previous Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Year award recipients include:

2020           Orion Boe, DC Everest Senior High School
2019           Marc Sippel, Wausau West High School
2018           Elliot Samuels, Newman Catholic High School
2017           Zach Mueller, DC Everest Senior High School
2016           Thomas Dunbar, Wausau East High School
2015           Stephen Paoli, DC Everest Senior High School
2014           Jake Whalen, Wausau West High School
2013           Cole Radloff, Wausau West High School
2012           Logan Taylor, Wausau East High School
2011           Brandon Luedtke, Wausau East High School
2010           Matiah Fischer, Wausau West High School
2009           Tyler Day, Wausau West High School
2008           Anthony Fischer, Newman Catholic High School
2007           Tyler Utecht, Wausau West High School
2006           Joe Gallion, Wausau East High School
2005           Ben Fischer, Wausau East High School
2004           Jordan Hein, Wausau West High School
2003           Andy Crooks, Wausau East High School
2002           Bradley Block, Wausau East High School
2001            Mark Zalewski, Wausau East High School
2000           Jonathon Wanta, D.C. Everest Senior High School
1999            Bounthavy Khamratthanome, Wausau West High School
1998           Derek Abney, D.C. Everest Senior High School
1997           Heath Novitzke, D.C. Everest Senior High School
1996           Timothy Freiberg, Wausau West High School

*Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee:

David Graebel, In memoriam: Aaron Baumgardt, Walter Bissell, Cal Chamberlain, Robert Hartwig, Ernie Hoenisch, John Hollingsworth, Barbara and Harlan Hunger

By: Sue Nelson

To learn more, please contact Sue Nelson, Program Officer, at [email protected] or (715) 845-9555.

More News

Go to Top